Portfilio Ideas

I am a college student trying to get a job as a developer, but due to the lack of a CS degree I feel it all comes down to my actually experience and skill. The only way I can think of to display said skill is with a portfilio, but I don't know what to create to put in it. The languages I know well enough to used professionally are C/C++ (obviously), Java, HTML, CSS, Visual Basic and C#.
The platforms I have worked on are Windows(Although it almost always using C# and Visual Studios) and Android.
I've also picked up the LibGDX and Bootstrap (but my skill with JavaScript, JQuery, and AJAX is shoddy at best) frameworks.
I've started and know the basic of SQL but my I still have trouble with integrating it with another language and truly have no idea how go any further with it without a server to practice on.
Anyway, I was looking for ideas to improve repertoire or portfilio.
Try making a few small and simple games. You could even try writing an emulator for some simpler systems, like the original GameBoy (The GBA is quite a complex beast, so you should stay away from it for now!) or the NES.
Thank for the reply, an emulator may be good, I had been interested in writing one back in high school and everyone I spoke to suggest starting with older consoles (8-bit chip) and working my way up. Also, I am actually already writing about three games in Java with LibGDX but its turning out that all of them are really big. The one I'm putting in my portfilio is a dungeon-crawler which generates a random 3D maze. I finished everything but the battle sequences and models for the characters. Honestly, I wanted to add something that leaned away from games because I thought it might lessen my value as anything other than a game developer.
If you aren't looking to write games, you could try other more general projects.