Do you think anybody can be a programmer and do you think it should be taught in elementary school?

Pages: 1234
In elementary school, no, I learned BASIC in 7th and 8th grade, but they mainly taught us to print things to the screen, mess with data, and then how to draw images to the screen. Though C++ is way more deep than BASIC was so I still stand by saying no to both questions. College and self-taught is the best bet IMHO.
@BHXSpecter
That doesn't explain why you don't think it should be taught in grade school.

I think programming is a subject that will confuse most children. I mean, try teaching a kid the basics of dynamic memory allocation or the process of compiling and linking

Dynamic memory allocation or process of compiling/linking is to programming like a telescope to astronomy. You don't need them to teach kids programming.
naraku9333 wrote:
Elementary school in the U.S. is kindergarten (usually 5 or 6 years old) to 12'th grade.

According to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elementary_school :

Nevertheless, education has had a relatively consistent evolution throughout the United States. All states have historically made a distinction between two genres of K-12 education and three genres of K-12 school. The genres of education are primary and secondary; and the genres of school are elementary school, middle or junior high school, and high school (historically, "senior" high school to distinguish it from the junior school).

which is more in line with my experience in the U.S. Also, I believe more typical ages for kindergarten entry are 4-5. Generally elementary school is k-5th, middleschool is 6th-8th and high school is 9th through 12th, although the exact grades tend to vary according to location. Some elementary schools go up to 6th grade (as the one I attended did.) When I attended junior high it was 7th and 8th grade (and some go up to 9th.)

@cire