• Forum
  • Lounge
  • Important C++ for future game programmer

Important C++ for future game programmer

Pages: 123
Hello, I have been learning C++ self-taught for a while now, but I am to the point where I am not sure what is the best thing to learn next. I wanted to know, from anyone in the game programming field, what are the most important C++ fundamentals to know? This may not be a great question, but I'm not sure how else to ask it. Also, how difficult is it to get a position as a game programmer, and what are "extras" that many companies would be more likely to select an applicant for? I will of course try to get some programming related degree in college (but I am in high school currently). Thanks for any input!
Last edited on
I'm still a student as well as you. This time, all I can say is....

1.) Meeeeeeeaaaaaath
closed account (N36fSL3A)
All I really use is a graphics+input library, C++, 1 percent of the STL, and simple addition, multiplication, and division. Nothing else really. Never really had to mess with stuff like mathematical vectors or anything. (Thank god because I haven't learned about those in school yet).

So really all you need to program a 2d game is game logic and simple math. 3d shouldn't be that much harder.

Reading this over before I post I realized you need to know geometry, but it's kind of flipped, as the graph starts in the top left corner of the screen. Don't forget about trig if you're going 3d.

Well I can't help you with the rest because I'm not old enough to legally get a job.
Last edited on by Fredbill30
closed account (3qX21hU5)
So really all you need to program a 2d game is game logic and simple math. 3d shouldn't be that much harder.

Um... Have you programmed a 3D game before? Not trying to be rude but I am genuinely curious. Could you send me some samples of your source code for your games you made?

Because you need some pretty advanced math for 2D games and even more so for 3D games.