• Forum
  • Lounge
  • How much of an advantage would you say p

How much of an advantage would you say people who started programming in high school have than those who started in college.

Pages: 12
If much at all.
Last edited on
closed account (o1vk4iN6)
That's making use of the body for the topic right there.
Last edited on
closed account (N36fSL3A)
Well I guess they'd be more familiar with the language.
To get knowledge you need a time. The more time you have the more knowledge you can get.
With intro courses, you might be able to skip some, but it could be a gpa booster, but a waste of time. Aside from that not much unless you've learned calculus and discrete math on your own. In college you will be more self-learning than being taught, its a bit of an advantage if you are the self-teaching autodidact type like me.
I quickly realized the people self-taught teach better. I mean professors usually act to strict, for example you have to use the same compiler and IDE.

Sucks if you're stuck with BloodShed.
FredBill, aren't you like 13? I don't think you can really have much of an opinion on how professors are.
closed account (G309216C)
Yeah agree FredBill30 cannot have any opinion about professors.

I go to university and I do Computer Science and after lecture I ask the professors for question which are at my standard and they answer it but on rare circumstances when professors cannot answer my question I ask on public forums.

I started at young age and at university I am much better than 99% of the students. It really helps learning programming at a young age.
Wow... Fredbill is 12. I though maybe 16...

I never went to college, also I never had a teacher...
To be technical I have never even asked a programming question before.
Everything I learned, was on my own. I didn't even have internet for the first 2 years.

You would have an advantage, but then again,
if you learned on your own, why join college?
The more you practice, the better you get.