What makes a good programmer

I can accomplish tasks but anything now i find myself looking up documentation alot...is a good programmer someone who gets it done or knows it all in his head(function names and such)
closed account (30X1hbRD)
Well in my opinion (even though I'm not a great programmer lol) I think a great programmer is someone who can think of what something will do in his head and be able to put it out on paper and get it all working properly. I hope to become that good one day
LOVE programming and you will be just fine,
if you have money or not, if you have good computer or not, if you have electricity in your area or not (like me some times goes off)

Every good programmer has tons of documentation, and looks at it all the time.

However, he is also very familiar with it, and can typically find what he wants to look up without much fuss.
closed account (EwCjE3v7)
YES love programming and youll be all fine.......A good programmer should be able to think in his head how the program works
What makes a good programmer...Intellect!:)
closed account (1v5E3TCk)
Intellect+Desire+Imagination+Chemical X
lol
you can tell hes good by the way he wiggles before he writes an algorythm
I can accomplish tasks but anything now i find myself looking up documentation alot...is a good programmer someone who gets it done or knows it all in his head(function names and such)

A good programmer gets things done! On time and to specification!!

But it does involve a lot of reading. You will come to know quite a lot of things by heart due to repetition, but there is always new material to learn. And you should always double check anything you're unsure of.

And at this time, with the appearance of C++11, even experienced C++ programmers have plenty of new stuff to learn.