Confidence Building Projects

Pages: 123
Yes. It was also fun but significantly harder.

EDIT... in fact... I think I still have it around... lemme see if I can dropbox it.

EDIT 2: here's the dropbox link:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/t7yff47lh8tsv3r/schuper.zip

dunno if I still have the source. I can look for it and post it if interested. It's very old and probably sloppy.
Last edited on
I'm a bit interested in the SNES emu source.
I am not very good at taking the big image and then breaking it down to the smaller components. 17 years and I still have trouble with that, but like Disch pointed out, I don't challenge myself that often so I've never really had a chance to build that skill. May be an interesting challenge regardless.
maeriden wrote:
I'm a bit interested in the SNES emu source.

Here is the source I could find. I have no idea if it's the same version as the binary I uploaded.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/l8i4cq2u3twpgeq/Schupersrc.zip

EDIT: holy crap I'm looking at this for the first time in years and I don't remember how any of it works. good luck. lol /EDIT

BHXSpecter wrote:
I am not very good at taking the big image and then breaking it down to the smaller components.

It's definitely an important skill.

Anyway, I definitely think the NES emu would be a good project for you. But it's your call. =)
Last edited on
I think the thing that makes me hesitate is that I don't know where to even start. My interest is peaked in it except for the fact of starting it. Looking at the links you provided and goolging to get an idea of where to start.
Last edited on by closed account z6A9GNh0
closed account (N36fSL3A)
The CPU. Without it you can do nothing.
First steps should be a CPU (6502) emulator:

--) make a generic 'read' function which reads from a give 16-bit address and returns an 8-bit value... and a 'write' function which writes an 8-bit value to a 16-bit address.

--) leave the functions blank, and just use them as you'd expect