• Forum
  • Lounge
  • why create a game for a smart phone inst

why create a game for a smart phone instead of a computer game?

Pages: 12
ok i know this has nothing to do with c++ but a lot of people ask random questions here since its such a big community.
anyway i have a college project coming up and i wanted to create a gaming app for android.

I guess the first problem is I don’t know what kind of game. I’m completely new at creating games so having a bit of trouble thinking of ideas because it can’t be too complicated but still needs to be a good game.

Next question is what is the advantage of creating a game for a smart phone instead of just making it for the computer? Why would it be better to use a smart phone? For example I could use the GPS on the phone, computers can’t so that’s one good thing about smart phones..

hope ye can all help with this :)
It's just a much more exposed market to an independent developer.

You have a better chance at making more money on a smartphone game than most other mediums.
its not about making money. this is just a college project
Then the answer is make whatever suites your game idea best.

If you have an idea more suited to one platform, make it for that.

Otherwise, if you have a platform you want to work for, drum up an idea for it.

That last one can bite you on the arse. I decided to make a PS3 game as part of a university project once. Ended it getting a great grade for it but it was an absolute nightmare.
But why make a game for a smart phone and not for the computer?
What makes a game better if its on a phone?
Well look at the differences between the devices.

Smartphones are portable. Computers aren't as portable.
Smartphones tend to have touch input, computers tend to have keyboard/mouse/controller input.
Smartphone games are often geared to a more casual audience, computers generally are not.