• Forum
  • Lounge
  • Should a 13 year old be learning about 3

Should a 13 year old be learning about 3D mathematics?

Pages: 123... 5
I am 13 years old and I have been programming c++ for 4 years now. I started learning about game development about a year ago and now I am reading up on OpenGL and mathematics for 3D programming. Now some of the concepts I'm learning I can get, but others are a little difficult to understand.

What do you guys think about me learning 3D mathematics?

Should I work on something else before I move on?
closed account (N36fSL3A)
Well yea, 3d math shouldn't hurt. It's actually quite simple once you get the hang of it, this is coming from someone near your age group(12).
closed account (jwkNwA7f)
Yes, I think learning anything that will benefit to your programming skills is great. I am also your age, 13.
Learn whatever you want, really. Especially when you're young.
Fredbill30 wrote:
It's actually quite simple...
Maybe we have different definitions of 3D mathematics, I think multi-variable calculus which I personally don't consider simple.

@OP
If you can understand the material than go for it.
I meant *simple*.

No math is really hard once you know the formulas. I just focus on those and plug numbers in.

We must have a different mental way of handling problems.

Don't forget the PC really does the work for you. You shouldn't focus on hardcoding values in if you can have your machine do it.
closed account (Dy7SLyTq)
No math is really hard once you know the formulas

thats not true. math can be extremely difficult.
Nope. Once you know formulas just plug numbers in. Complex != Difficult.
thats not learning it. thats letting someone do the work for you. its not making math easier
How is that letting someone do the work for you? You have a formula, you then plug in numbers.
thats not learning it. thats letting someone do the work for you. its not making math easier

my thoughts exactly.