Who here has a job as a programmer

Pages: 12
Just curious
closed account (1yR4jE8b)
Ruby on Rails developer checking in.
C++ developer checking in. I think quite a few people here have jobs, actually.
I quit looking for a job in programming. Just a hobby for me now.
Video game programmer checking in... Um... I use a few different languages.
C++/C#/Python here.
closed account (S6k9GNh0)
I'm not sure what I want to do... I originally started C++ for the intention of a career but grew more into a hobby than a job interest. I would certainly hate having something I love to do being twisted into something I hate.
Given my background no one's ready to employ me, hence I have decided to build my own application(s) in C++, gain some experience and then hopefully after a boatload of failed applications, I may create something useful enough.
C++/Perl/SQL over here.

Well, for the next few hours at least. Then it's on to pastures new.
I've been doing programming for 17 years. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Game and Simulation Programming from DeVry University. I have applied at companies and been told I am not experienced enough. After two years of rejections I just went to doing it as a hobby.
closed account (iw0XoG1T)
Calling myself a programmer is a bit much, but that is what my employer calls me. The majority of my time is spent writing scripts that create reports and populate excel spreadsheets.
Occasionally I can justify writing in C++ but not very often.
Still what I do now is better than what I did before which was auditing financial statements.
Last edited on
Still a C++/Perl/SQL. (Current contract just got extended)

Crazy day.
^
is a software engineer.
I have a job to be a student that studies programming, does that count? :D