python to c++?

closed account (Dy7SLyTq)
so im learning how to build a web browser through udacity (its actually teaching you how to interpret javascript/html and javascript is very similar to the language im making so it works great) except udacity is a huge python fan and i want to write mine in c++. im not a novice to python, however i havent done anything too advanced in it. so anyways my question is how difficult is it (usually) to convert python statements to equivalent c++ ones? i would prefer to do it by hand because ive read that translators like that dont usually work well, and it would be good practice
If you're making a web browser, you're going need to several languages. I think Firefox is written in a combination of four different languages.

This comes back down to pick the right tool for the job. C++ isn't the be all - end all language.
i understand that. thats not why i picked c++. the web browser is just to teach people lexers parsers and the such. its not actually to teach how to build top of the line products
the web browser is just to teach people lexers parsers and the such

I saw in your other thread that you're using PLY for this. Do you absolutely have to use it (i.e. is this a course requirement)? I've written a toy language compiler using flex and bison and it was a painful experience. I'll never do it again, especially now (that I know) that we have GLL [1]: