Java knowledge Vs. C++ knowledge

Pages: 123
Hi.

I am studying computer science and I am at least aiming at becoming some kind of engineer in programming. Ofcourse I want to be employed and work as this.
But I wonder, are good C++ programmers more rare and more attractive on the market than let's say Java programmers? If I would guess, there are less C++ programmers since Java seems much easier and more simple imo. but maybe I am wrong.

The reason for why I am asking this is that I do not know which language I should focus on. I have most experience from making simple CLI and GUI projects in Java.
But I like learning C++, since I think it's more interesting to know a language which offers a better performance and where you can work closer to the hardware if you want/need to.

What do you know about this?
closed account (N36fSL3A)
http://cdn.memegenerator.net/instances/400x/28698607.jpg
The stats for programming job offers in the UK can be found here. Not sure how meaningful they are... (or that the equivalent sites are for elsewhere.)

IT Jobs Watch
http://www.itjobswatch.co.uk

C++ currently figures in 5.46% of the jobs ads (over the last 3 months), whereas for Java it's 14.09%

So Java's more popular.

But good C++ programmers are rarer and more attractive on the market than (any old) Java programmer.

It does depend on what sector you want to work in. In London, the big investment banks are prob the main recruiters of C++ developers; to work on their algorithmic trading engines. To progress in this area you do need to understand financial mathematics, which doesn't appeal to everyone.

Andy
Last edited on
The language is irrelevant.

If you know the concepts of OOP, understand and recognize design patterns, and can create a good design, the language which you use to implement that design is just not that important. I've heard people say: I'm 90% done, now I just have to code it.