• Forum
  • Lounge
  • What gives you "the rush" in programming

What gives you "the rush" in programming?

Pages: 123
I'm one of the few that honestly enjoys coding. (It may not seem like few on here but really we're quite a rare breed grouped here guys) I always have bugs, but usually don't mind having to take time to go through with them. I just flat out enjoy writing computer programs. Not sure why, I just do. However, I'm still a novice with only about 8 months of experience, so most of my past isn't much of anything but console programming. However, I've finally gotten to a level where I can start making a game with SFML API. Not something only a few hundred lines like Pong either. I'm actually making a version of Battleship that's taking a lot more work. It's hard yes but I don't think I've ever been this hyped over computer programming before. In short I'm having a hard time going to sleep at a decent time lately as I want to keep working whenever I can. I kind of look at this as "the rush". I'm just having a crap load of fun with this.

Anyone else get this kind of feeling from something when they code?
I totally know how you feel. I do the same thing (can't sleep, try to sleep, but my mind is racing about the program I'm working on, what's next, how can solve this problem, how can I find the bug, etc. I'll wake up in the middle of the night, and start coding.) Just make sure to at least try to get some good sleep. It's unhealthy to miss too much sleep, and your judgement can get clouded when you are tired.

The biggest rush I've had so far, while programming, was seeing the GPU performance meter spike when I first successfully compiled and ran a program utilizing the graphics card for general computing using OpenCL.