how did you become good

Guys, I am a new student at college.I enrolled for computer science.Currently I am doing c++.But, I don't want to leave it.I want it to be part of my life.I am using a book by Tony Gadis, "starting out with c++".The problem is that even though I do the exercises there, when I am given assignments, tutorials, practicals or projects, I always struggle.My question is, how did you make it.what material should I use.What should I do.Any suggestion is welcomed.
closed account (jwkNwA7f)
I'm not going to call myself good, because you can always get better, but I'll tell you how I got to where I am. I got a lot of books and read online tutorials. Then, I wrote a lot of code. That's about it.
That's the problem.Some people say this book is trash, or that one is trash.I don't understand what they mean by that. I for one don't want to waste my money on trash.BTW, why do people say some books are trash, do they mean the explaining or what??

EDIT:
I read a post earlier;some guy says Maliks books are trash.
Last edited on
closed account (jwkNwA7f)
Not explaining it well, bugs in the code, incorrect facts, etc..
closed account (3qX21hU5)
That's the problem.Some people say this book is trash, or that one is trash.I don't understand what they mean by that. I for one don't want to waste my money on trash.BTW, why do people say some books are trash, do they mean the explaining or what??

When they say a programming book is trash it could be from a number of different things.

One might be because it teaches bad habits and gives misinformation. This is probably the worse thing that can happen in a book geared towards new programmers. If they have a error in the code it will be obvious most of the time. But when the book is teaching you to things in a way that is bad you won't find out until much later down the road most likely. And then you question what else might be wrong in what you learned.