is terminal good

Pages: 12
Guys I am curious.I have been programming for 10months now.All I used is terminal and a text editor.I get a bit concerned when people are talking about code:blocks,SDL, Qt creator and all that.am I really behind?Should I also try to use those stuff.Even though I am quiet happy with terminal and a text editor.What is used in the real world anyway.Please guys, I feel there is a lot that I don't know of
closed account (N36fSL3A)
Well it depends on what you're talking about.
Basically I'm still learning.I do exercises in books,pracs, toturials,etc.I haven't started anything of my own.I want 2 master the language b4 I dive into big projects.The curiosity, is whether I will need those staff when time comes.If so I think it would be rewarding to start using them now.
You'll never master the language.

If you're doing beginner stuff, terminals are fine.
Wrong.
Sometimes using the terminal gives a cleaner way to understand how files are compiled/linked.
Perhaps, you should try an IDE and see if it looks like a good alternative for you.
Spend some time "playing" with them, you will learn why people like/hate them.
Wrong.
What did I say that said anything? I said it depends on what you're doing.
@lumpkin
What do you mean terminals are for beginners.I know a lot of people who use terminals and a pretty good.What do you mean terminal are for beginners.And what does an IDE like netbeans, have that makes it any better.Chose Netbeans because I used it for Php and web based coding before I started using phpdesigner8.
bTW, have you ever used terminal
I never said terminals are for beginners...
Lumpkin wrote:
You'll never master the language.

If you're doing beginner stuff, terminals are fine.

Perhaps it really looks like that.
Also, let me split up, mastering the language does not imply having a different compiler setup.
C++11 features don't depend on your IDE.
Yes, you may need -std=c++11 on G++.
But it's nothing you won't remember.
@Lumpkin