• Forum
  • Lounge
  • Anyone into Game Programming as a profes

Anyone into Game Programming as a profession?

Pages: 12
closed account (L0Shb7Xj)
I intend to take it up as a profession, and would like some advice. Eg: These universities are the best, this is what it's like to work on a game, etc.

Thank you, in advance
Just take up being an indie game programmer. I graduated almost 3 years ago from a game development/programming specific degree and have yet to catch a break in regards to getting hired. It has got to the point where I actually gave up on working professionally (for an existing company) and have no focused on working on projects as an indie developer (should have done this to begin with as it doesn't require a degree to be an indie developer).

Pay may be good, or not, but the hours as a pro at a well known developer are terrible compared to the flexible hours you have as an indie developer.
closed account (L0Shb7Xj)
Thanks, dude. That is a really good idea. Will consider it.

Well, sorry for the short reply, but that doesn't mean I'm not thankful...
It's not an easy way out though. Get damn good at programming, remember to learn how to make reasonable graphics and make the best games you can. You won't make a living out of it if you make rubbish games.

Edit: This is what it is like to work on your own game.

-Think of the idea
-Make up the first basic graphics
-Make up the environment of the game - The player(s), physics, scores etc
-Fix all the problems with the environment (bug fixing)
-Start making the first level
-Fix further bugs with the environment that you discover at this stage
-Probably make a few more graphics at this stage
-Make a few more levels
-Fix more bugs
-Test the levels
-Hassle your friends to test the levels
-Fix the problem/bugs that your friends find
-Make the menu graphics
-Make the menu
-Make any other menus
-Make more levels
-Spend ages playing levels over & over and balancing them