3D Camera Math

Pages: 123
I'm new to 3D math, and am experimenting with 3D via SFML+OpenGL.

The way my current camera system is set up is I have two 3D vectors (the mathematical vectors), one for the camera position and the other for the camera rotation. That's p.x, p.y, p.z, and r.x, r.y, r.z, respectively. r.x is rotation about the x axis, etc.

The camera controls I want are the ability to pan the screen left, right, up, down, and forward and backward. I have this implemented in terms or r.x and r.y here:
https://github.com/LB--/Recipe-Spelunker/blob/9b67ca6b27ee4479a2305459b7eddaf8d3fef1d1/src/client/main.cpp#L193

However, my implementation seems the hard way to do it, and I only slightly understand why it works - I got it mostly through trial and error. Now, I want to include r.z, rotation about the z axis, and this is proving to be too challenging for me.

Can someone explain the math to me and/or offer a more elegant solution?
closed account (N36fSL3A)
I'd like to know how to do this as well.
closed account (o1vk4iN6)
If you need camera "roll" (basically the camera spinning) then you can just use matrices to the extend:

Mat3 camRot;
Mat3 rotX;

// need to transform "rotX" into our camera system so that a basic rotation matrix
// around the x axis will now be a "roll" rotation for our camera.
// then apply that rotation to our camera
// bit rusty tho i think this is sound :P
camRot = camRot * rotX * camRot;

If you don't need rolling then you can just keep what you have and define rotation by 2 angles like you have. You can then just convert those angles into a "forward" vector then calculate the up and left/right vectors using cross product. Those 3 vectors are then used to form the rotation matrix for the camera.

Can see details here (recommend using firefox as it formats the data correctly into matrix notation, chrome doesn't): http://www.opengl.org/sdk/docs/man2/xhtml/gluLookAt.xml