My first C++ project!!!!!!!!

Pages: 12
J4ke wrote:
And when I say well on your way, I mean you've just started. I've been programming for around 3 years and I'm still learning something new every day.

The day a C++ programmer says they have learned everything is the day arrogance has set in. I've been programming in C++ for 17 years and I still learn new things every day and even find that I have some poor habits I thought were normal methods (which they were back in the late 90s when I started, but have been changed in recent years).
closed account (Dy7SLyTq)

[EDIT]
Though, learncpp.com does something that I think is a little annoying and overkill.

#include <iostream>

class NAME{
using namespace std;
//....
};

void funct(...)
{
using namespace std;
//......
}

int main()
{
using namespace std;
// .......
return 0;
}

that should never be done. ever. there is nothing wrong with limiting the scope you want to bring in namespaces to, but that is very bad in fact down right pointless(except for learning about scope) it is always much better to just specify what you want to bring in
Last edited on
Your code is alright. I would say you have a basic understanding of C++. For all that you need it for, I think you're fine. If you havn't practiced the <math> functions though, I think you should, as you will find them helpful if you use programming as a means to create proofs (I did read an article in which mathmaticians were programming algorithms to prove theorums).
DTSCode wrote:
that should never be done. ever. there is nothing wrong with limiting the scope you want to bring in namespaces to, but that is very bad in fact down right pointless(except for learning about scope) it is always much better to just specify what you want to bring in