AI Contest Type Thing

Pages: 123
What about just making AIs that do not make illegal moves? You need only make sure that:

1) You're moving within the area of the board
2) You're not moving over a fence
3) If placing a fence, you:
a) Have a fence available
b) It's placed on the board and not in collision with another fence.
4) If moving over the other player, you're doing so correctly. The most complex situation is when a fence is behind the player you are jumping over.*

This doesn't seem like too many conditions to check? The test program could just reject invalid inputs and disqualify the program / make the program resign? Is this too harsh?

*I have this game at home and have played quite a bit (although I've never tried to write an AI for it before). I can explain any rule ambiguities or anything if anyone has any.

Edit: My point here is kind of, it's not a very good AI if it makes illegal moves.
Last edited on
The best AI will just pause the game then it can never lose.
The best AI will just pause the game then it can never lose.

God I remember doing this back in WC3... Would just spam pause the game and people would get so frustrated they would just leave.
Clearly some rules need to be set:

- Failure to move in a certain time --> Automatic resignation
- Failure to play a legal move --> Automatic resignation

I thought today I can make a little ascii board representation that checks move legality and keep track of pawn and fence numbers and positions. AIs could be written in a header file and then the AIs included with their respective header files and left to do battle until a winner is found. It would seem fair to match each AI with another twice, once going first and once going second. I figure I could release the code here so people can error check it and see what conditions they need to give to the program to make a move. Thoughts?
closed account (N36fSL3A)
So if your program has a bug it gets disqualified? Make limits.