Understanding of the build process

closed account (S6k9GNh0)
I've continuously found people saying that some libraries are easier to install than others. I am at a loss as to how this is... most are already completely automated and do everything for you. Even if they aren't, it's generally pretty basic as to what goes where. But I see people who have programmed in C for years without a damn clue as to what is actually going on inside of their build tools or the project they're working on.

But even further, I find it stranger that Java programmers tend not to be this ignorant of their build tools. I know the process is much less complicated but when you ask a C programmer if he's trying to build a static or shared library, and then he asks, "What's the difference" or says, "I don't know", the palm of my hand slowly finds its way onto my face.

Now I'm no expert on ld or any specific toolkit. I know enough to mix builds together, to do some cool stuff with makefiles, and to never, ever have issues with linking or headers. I believe this is enough to quicken my pace as a programmer. But I find people stuck on these things for hours, days, sometimes weeks, basically playing "trial and error" at trying to get things to work.

I'm not really sure how to fix the issue. It's not as complicated as some people make it out to be. Rather an hour or so of reading would set you up for life as to how linking interacts with the compiler and your code.

I'm starting to want to redirect people to the clang or ld manual pages everytime I see someone say Code::Blocks is a compiler. Any feedback on my observations?
closed account (3qX21hU5)
I was actually thinking something along the same lines today. I keep seeing people judge libraries on how easy they are to install and I had the same exact reaction.