Learning a second language

So a while back, before I decided to learn C++, I started learning a little bit of Java, a friend of mine told me to learn C++, because "that's what real games are made in" (I know, it's a misconception.) So before I had got very far learning Java, I changed to C++. While learning C++, I forgot almost everything about Java except for System.out.println("Words go here");. And of course the common built-in types int, double, char, string, etc.. Anyway, after about a year of learning C++, I decided to revisit Java, and I would have to say, Wow, learning a new language after getting the jist of programming in general, it is very easy to grasp a new language. There is quite a bit of differences, yes, but the general idea is similar. After only a few hours, I had moved on to learning the swing and awt libraries for GUI programming with Java. I'm sure most of the seniors here and people who know multiple languages already knew how easy it was to learn a second, third, or even fourth language, but it was a big surprise to me and it was quite the pleasant one!
Well, it depends on the language...

In my experience, Java was very easy to learn, simply because it is basically just C++ that forces you to be OO, with a few syntax quirks, and then its just a matter of learning the libraries. However, other languages can take a bit more time, especially high-level scripting languages like Python or Lua. And of course, none of those are anywhere as time consuming as learning a language like Japanese (which I tried once, and gave up on after about a year).
Cool. Now learn Haskell. ;)
closed account (3qX21hU5)
However, other languages can take a bit more time, especially high-level scripting languages like Python or Lua.