• Forum
  • Lounge
  • How do people make money through open so

How do people make money through open source software

Pages: 12
Hi!

I am a novice programmer and I am interested in the concept of community development. I am just curious about whether people are really making money from open source software. If so, how?

Well what I understand from the GPL licence, one can charge for the software but the customers are again 'free' to distribute the software as they wish.

So what is the business proposition of companies like Redhat. Is it that they provide warranty (most open source software is without warranty) and technical support?

I am asking this because I have encountered quite a few interesting and useful open source projects but I personally feel that for them to be successful there should be a way to reward the contributors.

The easy answer: Open Source != Free

Read this: http://www.gnu.org/philosophy/free-software-for-freedom.en.html
EDIT: And this: http://www.gnu.org/philosophy/free-sw.html

The first link says the difference between free software (As in the GPL lisence) and Open Source, and the other is about why "free software" isn't free (yet is, at the same time), due to the contrasting meanings of the word "free"
Last edited on
Actually yes I do understand the different meanings of the term free as in 'free beer' and as in 'free speech', but the question remains as to whether open source can be practically used as a commercial project and how?
Last edited on
wannabeCoder wrote:
Actually yes I do understand the different meanings of the term free as in 'free beer' and as in 'free speech', but the question remains as to whether open source can be practically used as a commercial project and how?