one question about goto's

Pages: 12
question ::
if goto should never be needed and should never be used, why is it there then?
Last edited on
It's not universally agreed that goto should never be used. But even if it was, it is very difficult to remove anything from C++. There are millions of lines of code that use goto, they are live in production across the world. If the compilers suddenly start rejecting that code, people simply won't use the new compilers.

You think goto is useless, how about the operator++ for bools? It's been obsolete since 1998, but it can't be removed because there are codebases out there that rely on it.

goto does actually have its uses. Even if no live code was using it, it still should not be removed. It's just that beginners have no idea of how to use it and don't realize a program jumping around the code like a madman is extremely poor design.
well, i'm a beginner, and i got a lot of advices to not to "goto" in my programs which i got reviewed by experts and many time me too feel that using goto creates some fuss in the operation of many of my programs and sometimes gives hilarious errors.. @_@...
That advice you were given is good advice. Don't use goto, unless you absolutely have to, and you're absolutely sure you're expert enough in C++ to understand all the dangers and implications of using it.

And even then, think twice about it.
hmm...
@MikeyBoy
can you please tell me some dangers of using it?
Leads to what is called spaghetti code. If you overuse goto it will be jumping all over your code which makes it harder to read. That is the biggest issue with it that I know of.
calling functions and using of global variables, classes, structures also makes program jumping whole over the program then why only goto is a problem?
Code in C++ is very structured.

Everything is arranged in clear {blocks} where nested braces and indentation levels show a clear flow of logic. You can expect that one line of code will lead to the next.