Advice please~~~~

Pages: 12
Hello~~
I am completely new to programming and I was just lazy to start even though I was really interested, so I forced myself into a C++ course even though my current college major is quite irrelevant. Heehee. So far I can write simple ones like using user input to calculate stuff (volume etcetera).
I started watching tutorials off youtube and was quite comfortable on Code Blocks, but then the class I am taking uses Visual 2008... So I had to download VS but I got 2013 which feels completely different! Most tutorials on youtube are about VS 2010 and the interface is very different and I find it hard to learn now.
So...
1. What is a good source of VS 2013 tutorial?
2. Am I starting from the right language??
3. Please share experiences on how you first started programming.

Thank you~~~ and pardon me for the long story~~~~
i cant attest to using vs2013 (linux developer w/ gedit; dont even use an ide), however c++ is a great place to start. it has its benefits and downfalls (i know because i started with it; well c rather). if you start with a simple language, say python or php, then it will teach you programming fundamentals that you will see in most other languages. however, making the shift to a more lower-level language where not everything is done for you (like c++ for example), can be difficult, since some new ideas are at play. if you start with c++ it is (at least in the cases of when ive taught people) more difficult to learn, but moving to other languages is a breeze
I would go with VS 2010, these newer compilers spoil the user.

EDIT comment
Compiler IDE whatever the heck you want to call it.
Last edited on