Suitable Language for Roguelike

Hi everyone! I hope you are having a great day (or night.) I feel the need to warn you all in advance that this post will be extremely nooby.

That being said, I am searching for the perfect language for Roguelike development. Now, before you jump to the reply button and say "Use whatever language you are comfortable in" let me say a couple of things. The first time I got serious about learning to program, I tried learning C++. As you can imagine, this did not end well at all. I was struggling to understand basic things like functions (not necessarily the functions themselves, but I didn't realize how functions were supposed to work together.)

I have been learning Python recently from the book Learn Python the Hard Way(I'm not amazing at it, but I'm not a complete noob either.) I've always wanted to learn C++ though, and sometimes I just stop what I'm doing with Python and try replicating what I was doing in C++. I've noticed that although I still really suck at C++, I finally understand things because of my experience with Python.

You might be asking why I don't just stick to learning Python, and my answer is that I just really want to learn C++. Something about the fact that everything is manually managed makes me really excited to learn it, due to the fact that I love messing around with my computer and learning the ins and outs of everything that I do.

Now, my big question is, should I take the time to learn C++ (from what I've heard, this will take a couple of years, and then you keep perfecting the skills you already have) or just stick to Python to create a Roguelike.

In addition, which language will be more valuable to learn in the future?

My eventual goal is to create a massive, complex game like Dwarf Fortress (yes, I do realize that this will not happen until I REALLY, REALLY understand a language.) If you read this far, then I want to thank you for your time. You obviously have a great attention span :).