• Forum
  • Lounge
  • An challenge for white hat hacker (web).

An challenge for white hat hacker (web)...

Hello,
I'm studying XSS since 1 month ago, and I know pretty good stuff. So I started to look fails in real sites, but my "attacks" are only JS script: "alert('xss');". I have challenge to hackers experienced in XSS: show me a fail in http://www.njogos.pt/ and, if you have ever saw, in http://www.cplusplus.com/ . :)
Last edited on
If you've spent a month trying to understand cross site scripting then you're either doing something seriously wrong or you have an incomplete resource. XSS is simply when content from a third party, such as a banner ad or an embedded link, presents itself in the context of the second party i.e. the site that the user is actually viewing. In other words it's when an iFrame impersonates the host, that's all it is. The idea is for the system that is browsing the site to think that the third party content is from the second party and therefore safe so that it can then be granted the same execution permissions.

This doesn't sound like some huge exploit or evil attack vector when I talk about it because for a properly configured browser it's not. But when Jonny Numbskull gives Facebook permission to launch applications outside of his browser, or to run Active X content without prompting him (because he thinks it's annoying to click 'ok' every time) it then becomes a problem worth paying attention to.
@Computergeek01 that's reflected XSS. There is Persistent XSS and Non-Persistent XSS. XSS can steal, for example, cookies, or even change a database. Can steal admin rights, bypass a login prompt, etc.