C++ learning recommendation?

Hello, everyone. I am completely new to these forums. I am very new to C++, basically last-week type of new.

In short, my problem is it seems the amount of teaching materials and tutorials for C++ are as vast as the language itself. I'd like a recommendation of a .pdf or something similar to learn C++? The reason I don't simply use the website is because I'm offline a lot, and it has to be that way for a while.

Also, I'd like to meet some people, get to know who posts here, see the norm of the forum, because every forum has un-written etiquette that seems to alter the rules a little :) ; so tell me how you learned and how long it took to become semi-sufficient and have a good understanding of C++.

Thanks in advance.
Last edited on
First, this should probably go in the lounge - you can edit your post and move it there.

As for how to learn C++, there is an old version of the tutorial on this site here: http://www.cplusplus.com/files/tutorial.pdf . You could also purchase a book if you wanted too, there are a number of good books around. I personally never used any to learn C++ (I have only ever looked at two books on programming), so I don't know what are good ones to recommend.

As for etiquette, read the rules. Actually follow them and the other guidelines. Be polite. That's about it really.

As for me learning C++, I learnt it by quickly skimming through a few tutorials to get an idea of the syntax, and then looking at projects other people have written. I learn by example, and when I learnt I felt it would be better that way. As for how long it took to become 'semi-sufficient', depends what you mean. I felt I had a basic handle on the language in about 3 weeks, and then spent all the time from then learning how I was wrong :)