Opensource project, am I responsible?

Hi all,

At the moment I am participating in a project responsible for the creation of program having the ability to harm one's system. The primary purpose of the program however lays within the legal boundaries of the law. The program will be released under GPLv3 and therefore is opensource.

My involvement doesn't go any further than writing code and preparing documentation, in which my name will be mentioned. At no time throughout the project will I take the release in production nor am I engaged in the actual usage of the product. (The deployment will be will be executed by a third party)

Question is: if it will ever come to legal action, can I be hold responsible for damages and/or digital fraud? I just wanted to bring up the issue to see if any had experience with such situations.

I'll not go into details on the project itself or its purpose
I'm not a lawyer, but I would bet money as long as your intent isn't malicious then you have nothing to worry about. There's an entire industry for creating and using these kinds of tools in a legal manner.

If this project is backed by any sort of company, I would consult with them just be sure that you are fine.

Eh I can't offer any advice besides ask the people you are working with (if it is backed by a company, they should have at least one lawyer). You could also ask over at StackOverflow, as more professionals tend to be active over there.
Thank you for your answer. I just noticed that some people shift all the responsibilities to the first person they can find. I've never been in this situation before as most of the software I write is proprietary, and usually the devers are left out of the final credits.
Are there any non-harmful uses for your program? Are you reasonably certain that third parties will be using this program to harmful ends?