When to use heap?

Hi i'm new and i didn't know where else to put this question so forgive me if this isn't the right place. i studied dma (dynamic memory allocation) but it left me with so many questions, one of which is when do we use the free store instead of the stack? a guy told me if i have so many objects i should allocate these objects on the heap so that i wont encounter a stack-overflow but i still dont understand, help me understand better plz.

english is not my native language plz dont use difficult-to-understand words ;) thank you very much.
The advantage to the free store is that the memory you reserve remains available until you explicitly state you are done with it by freeing it. Say you have a game with a level that has 68 enemies, you can allocate the memory for the enemies at the beginning of the lvl and free the memory at the end. You're also allowed to create an object in one function that you can access even after the function ends, unlike in stack where everything you've created in a local scope will be automatically deallocated.

int blahblah (int x , int y)
{
return x + y;
}// x and y are local to that function and will vanquish after the function ends - unlike memory on the heap. 

I often try to use automatic variables with references if I need values to be altered by a function just for a little bit of peace of mind.

Most of my use with memory on the heap is for storing data where I don't know what type or size it's going to be at compile time. I can allocate a set amount of memory in bytes using char or in chunks of 4 bytes using int (depending on what I need), for whatever size I find out that I need at runtime.

I believe you also need to use the heap to give access to variables for lots of APIs such as DirectX/OpenGL (I've only really "looked into" graphics a little so far so don't take my word for that)