Starting Windows programming

Pages: 12
I'm a complete newbie to windows programming and know a little bit of C++. I want to start Windows programming. I'd be glad if someone suggested me, how to start windows programming/some tutorials that I can refer.
Thank you.
Last edited on
closed account (z05DSL3A)
Learn to Program for Windows in C++
http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/windows/desktop/ff381399(v=vs.85).aspx
Thank you! :)
Here is a really good source:
http://www.winprog.org/tutorial/

It is the only *good* thing I have found on UI programming (for now). I really recommend it
Here is a really good source:
http://www.winprog.org/tutorial/

Thank you, will look at it.
I cannot suggest MSDN enough for anyone trying to learn C\C++ for Windows. The one draw back that will constantly get on your nerves is their tendency to move things around, this will leave your bookmarks, and even parts or their site, full of broken links and once in a great while you'll need to reference the documentation on something before your favorite search engine has gotten around to indexing the new page (semi-pro tip: use the search engines cache feature when this happens). This never means that they are burying that documentation, it almost always means some intern isn't working fast enough and the issue gets fixed a day or so. Beyond that, nothing out there is as well documented as the WinAPI.

Just remember that they WinAPI is targeted at C not C++. So if you think that there is a better way to do something then they have in the tutorials then try it; and come back here if you hit a snag.
So if you think that there is a better way to do something then they have in the tutorials then try it; and come back here if you hit a snag.

Yep, I've started experimenting with stuff, will surely post here if I get stuck or need some help. Thanks for your help though =)