Hello's all round

Hey Forum!

I have just joined - obviously! I come here fresh from the bruising, rather toxic atmosphere over at SO. I can imagine that forum and the culture behind it work for some folks - but sadly not me. I say this not to vent, but rather to draw a contrast. I hope the CPP forums are perhaps a little friendlier - they certainly seem that way from a little browsing - and also maybe a little more open to COMMUNICATION! Something sorely, sorely lacking a Stack Overflow - odd for a method of electronic communication!!!

ANYWAY!

I am a fairly old chap and programme not for business but to keep my mind sharp. I have been writing programmes for my own amusement in C++ since 1996, although not solidly and hardly at all over the last few years. I also adore Perl and have come to enjoy some VB as well. I do not like C# or indeed any of that .NET CLR stuff. I find Delphi very attractive, especially its melding of VB-style simplicity with near-C++ performance - however the huge size of its executables put me off at the moment. I still tend to programme as if I were having to cope with the limitations of a Pentium 100 and 16MB of RAM!

So far as my 'skills' go - I am an odd mix. I largely taught myself along with some help from Technical College courses. Therefore I know quite a lot about some advanced techniques, but equally have quite a few holes in my understanding of the basics. I have never been able to get a handle on templates or the HP standard template libraries. I am also quite out of touch with the modern language as I have not programmed C++ 'seriously' since 2000. As I say I am do not work as a programmer but try to take my programming as seriously as if I did. I am also always trying to learn and improve.

I hope the forums here are actually open for some honest discussion and sharing of ideas. I look forward to finding out.