Confused!

Hi,
I am fairly new to c++. I have been 'trying' to learn c++ for quite some time now. I am using C++ primer plus to learn. Unfortunately, I get stuck with the problems (I'm on the 6th chapter! There are 17). I'm on the verge of giving up.
Sometimes, I just don't seem to get it or i get it but I can't implement it.
I asked a few people what i should be doing. Some said that I should try an easier language like Javascript instead. Some said that I should just stick to c++, and I'll figure it out eventually. I don't know what to believe, so I decided to post this.
I need good advice. I'm not moving forward in c++. I have tried a few books before this as well, and had given up. I read reviews on amazon regarding this book, and bought it.
I really want to learn, but I'm afraid that I might just give up. Sometimes, I feel that I'm just blaming the book, learning can be done with any book right?

jub4jive wrote:
I am using C++ primer plus to learn.
You have fallen into a trap. Just as there are good books, there are bad books. "C++ Primer" is a good book, whereas "C++ Primer Plus" is by a different author and has received poor reviews (e.g. http://accu.org/index.php?module=bookreviews&func=search&rid=1744 ).

Here is a list of great C++ books:
http://stackoverflow.com/a/388282/1959975
C++ was my first language I learned, and is the one I use most of the time for personal projects. Learning other languages have been fairly trivial after learning C++.

If books aren't working for you (you do have a bad book, as LB said), then forget them for now. Just start writing something that sounds interesting to you, researching what you need as you go. This process will be much more rewarding and the things you learn will stick more than just reading through a book.
Thanks for the reply. I also have the c++ primer book. I was hoping to get started on it after C++ primer plus.