Question About *Nix Systems

I'm a complete and utter newb when it comes to discussing the architecture of *nix systems, so please bear with me.

I've been thinking lately... Linux is essentially a rip-off of a Unix kernel. It's interface should be identical, so why aren't Linux and FreeBSD (an actual version of Unix*) distributions directly compatible with each other? Theoretically it should require more or less zero work to do so, since they expose a common interface.

...Is it because of a failure to stick to the interface? Did something similar to how the romantic languages split up, where the dialects slowly developed into completely separate languages due to isolation?

*: Technically BSD doesn't have any original UNIX code anymore, but that's because it was all rewritten.
Last edited on
Because Linux Is Not UniX.
Linux was a hobby project to be a free UNIX like OS. AFAIK it shares no code with the original UNIX.

so why aren't Linux and FreeBSD (an actual version of Unix) distributions directly compatible with each other?
Compatible in what sense?
nakaru9333 wrote:
Because Linux Is Not UniX.
Linux was a hobby project to be a free UNIX like OS. AFAIK it shares no code with the original UNIX.
I think you misread what I said. I'll explain it in my response to the next quote.

Compatible in what sense?
I wasn't saying that Linux shares any source code with BSD. I'm saying that since it's technically a clone (it provides the same interface), the kernel should in theory be able to be swapped out with a FreeBSD one, or the other way around. It has nothing to do with the underlying implementation of the kernels. It's the same principle with a graphics API like OpenGL. The drivers are implemented separate from each other, but a program written to use the interface (should) be able to run perfectly as long as the driver conforms to the specification.
Last edited on