Toying with the idea of making a game

So, what initially got me into programming was wanting to make a video game out of a crap story I came up with while playing pretend as a kid. My dad picked me up a book on BASIC from the library and downloaded the free version of Dark Basic. As an 11 year old, it was far beyond my capabilities. I dropped programming shortly after and went back to writing. Several years later I had become very interested in Artificial Intelligence, naive as I was about what those words really implied. So I taught my self C++, using this forum in fact. I've been programming for about 8 years now, have quite a few languages in my toolbelt and have dabbled in all sorts of fields.

Well, in highschool a close friend and I came up with this rather large epic. We originally intended on turning it into a series of books, but we've both accepted that will probably never happen. Over the years we've altered details, fleshed out points of vagueness, closed plot holes, and all around made it less of a couple 14 year olds' malformed fantasy.

It's full enough now that we could probably turn it into a couple of books if either of us had the patience for writing that much. But, I'm strongly considering turning it into a game. I'm thinking top down isometric action rpg. I have friends that could supply voice work, art and music. That close friend would work with me on adapting the story and coming up with dialog. I have the skills to make this game, the only thing holding me back is fear of failure. See, I've never completed a non trivial project outside of academia. And that was 4 years ago. I guess the reason I'm making this thread is looking for encouragement and advice from anyone who've tackled a game before. I know of course the wisdom of making a game rather than an engine. And I know this may come across as a conceited fish for vindication.