• Forum
  • Lounge
  • Gaining Experience/Breaking into the fie

Gaining Experience/Breaking into the field

Hello, fellow programmers!
I am in my junior year of computer science, and I'm running into some walls.
I've been looking for internships, and it's proving to be extremely difficult to get one, or even be considered for one.
I've been programming for 4 years, and I know C, C++, some Java, some Python, and some Scheme. I am most proficient in C++.
At the university career fair, it seemed a lot of companies want us to programming prodigies, or have many more years of experience than I have. It doesn't seem that a passion for software engineering is enough anymore.
I've done group programs, done plenty of data structures, some software engineering, algorithms, and I know mathematical logic. I'm also a mathematics minor, and I'm currently taking abstract algebra. I've worked with SFML, developed a small physics engine for 2D games, and implemented plenty of data structures. If you looked at my code, you would see that I am more than competent.
I've had people tell me that I can use their work to show to potential employers, but I refuse to do that. I will NOT claim something is mine when it isn't, even if I understand the whole thing. I want to be competent because of my own work, not someone else's.

My main question is: How on earth do I get the experience these people are looking for, or how do I convince them that I am worth their time? The university courses do not provide the experience these companies want, and my coursework leaves me with little time to self study. I'm trying to break into the field of software engineering, but companies don't seem to want a newcomer - they all seem to want someone who has a lot of experience doing it. But how can I get the experience without actually having an opportunity to work in the field?