• Forum
  • Lounge
  • Master's in high-performance computing u

Master's in high-performance computing using C++?

I'm currently studying for my Master's in a STEM field. I use alot of C++ and the code also uses parallel programming. I'm aware some jobs exist as supercomputing centers, oil/gas, and in finance in HFT. I am not interested in working in defense or a govt lab.

1. Are the jobs in C++/HPC/MPI for MS-holders any more lucrative than the entry-level jobs that CS grads get? What about compared to data scientist jobs?
2. Would having an MS in HPC (not phd) give me any advantage over those with just a BS in CS?
3. For a career in HPC, should I focus more on learning MPI/OpenMP or improving my skill with C++?

To improve your skill in C++, I would suggest you write a program without using third party libraries (not practical, and would take a long time, but certainly would improve your skill). Another alternative is just to practice writing whatever, and make it more efficient than it's first incarnation. Mabey replace calls to functions in third party libraries with one of your own implementation as a way to learn about how they did it.

As far as I know, there are more jobs in Java than C++, because most businesses just want programs that make things easier. Most of the time they don't even care if it even works right (I worked on code that was outsourced, and it didn't even do what it was supposed to do!), just that it gives them the results they want.
And now to actually answer the OP's questions. Though, to be fair, you really should have done this research BEFORE applying for the program.

1. Yes, about $5k-$10k more on average. It ain't that much.
http://news.dice.com/2013/07/25/should-programmers-get-a-masters-degree-in-cs/

2. Having an MS in general might actually hurt your chances in some places. The general line of reasoning in those places is "why would you go back to school when you already have a BS, after all the fundamentals are taught?"