• Forum
  • Lounge
  • What math knowledges I must know to make

What math knowledges I must know to make a game?

Hi at all! I'm 17 I and I'm studying Computer Science. When I will finish the secondary school, I will go to the university to study informatics. In my country Italy, you can choose to study engineering or mathematics, both oriented to informatics. I'm going to choose mathematics because I know that there are a lot of math knowledges I must know to make a game and, if I choose math oriented to informatics, there is an OpenGL course! Just visit the following page if you want:
http://goo.gl/e6mx0f

These are the courses related to math:

Math analisys, discrete math (also involves analytic geometry), physics, mathematical logic, probability calculus, operations research, statistics, numeric analisys.

If I choose engineering, I will find some useless (to me) exams, for example some called "Physics II", where I study things like thermodynamics, that I believe are not important to make a game...

So, the question is: with the math knowledges mentioned above, will I be able to make a game? By now, I'm just learning SDL and a bit of OpenGL, along Java and C++ all by myself...
Thanks in advance for any answer and excuse me for my bad english!
Last edited on
Im just wondering if you've studied linear algebra, because thats also very important if you want to make 3D Games.

Other than that, you can basically make any game ever.
The Site wrote:
Practical Part
•	OpenGL introduction
OpenGL application
OpenGL as a state machine
Vertex Array
Display List
•	Transformation in OpenGL
Current matrix transformation
Matrix identity:: glLoadIdentity
OpenGL transformation: glTraslate, glScale, glRotate
Stack in OpenGL
Pivot rotation in OpenGL
•	PushMatrix/PopMatrix
Introduction
Matrix stack
•	Texture Mapping in OpenGL
OpenGL texture object
Texture generation
How use a texture object
glTexImage2D
Texture parameters
glTexCoord mapping
•	Automatic Texture-Coordinate Generation