• Forum
  • Lounge
  • how to determine whether you are already

how to determine whether you are already proficient in c++?

I just graduated in associate degree in Computer Science. I want to get a job ASAP, but I have this worries that I might be incompetent at work because every topics that we learned were all basics. So what I'm doing now, while passing CV/resumes and waitung for company's call, is I'm studying C++ further. But I don't how much concepts I should study in C++. I'm currently in the OOP of C++, then something struck me.

I want to become a programmer, and I've done some research and a programmer should learn multiple langauges depending on what field you're on. Like in web dev, a programmer should know HTML, CCS, JS, PHP. The thing is I don't know what field I could be on. WHAT ARE THE DIFFERENT FIELDS IN IT PROGRAMMING?

So I need to learn multiple languages. I want to study C# next, but I don't know when, what I mean is I don't know if I'm already proficient in C++. How can I tell that I'm already in intermediate to advance level in c++?
Last edited on
If you are applying for jobs as a web programmer, it is unlikely that you even have to have heard of C++. If you are sending out resumes without even looking at what the company requires for the position, you are wasting both your time and the companies, and most likely killing any chance you might have later on, when you do have the qualifications.

All that said, if an employer expects you to be completely competent with no more than a school degree, you probably do not want to work for them. As you noticed, school only gives you the basics for a wide range of areas. Every company will have a different range of specific areas that you need to pick up on. How well you do will depend on how well you can adapt to those specifics.