• Forum
  • Lounge
  • what are the benefits of learning assemb

what are the benefits of learning assembly with C++?

Hi I'm a newbie learning C++ and people told me that if i learned Assembly alongside C++ that I'd be a better programmer overall. So I'd like to know what are the benefits of learning Assembly by itself and with C++. What are things that I can do with knowledge of C++ and assembly? that i can't do with C++ alone. How would knowing both make me a better programmer?
You will be looking at assembly when using a debugger. Understanding, for example, why a particular loop was or wasn't vectorized and what changes to the source code would make it vectorizable on a given CPU can make you a hero.

Of course, as a newbie, you are a long way from there, but don't hesitate to actually look at the compiled code.
You really don't have to learn assembly.

Knowing exactly what is going on underneath does widen your understanding of the way the computer works, just as learning how to work a problem from different perspectives (say, functional vs procedural), but in terms of programming in C++, it really doesn't matter. Learn to program good C++ and you'll get good machine code.

BTW, this is a common quackery that has existed forever. "Oh, you're learning <language X>? If you also learn <language Y> you'll be a better <language X> programmer."

Nonsense.

Hope this helps.
+1 Duoas

Learn to write good C++. Don't overwhelm yourself by learning two things at once.
I would listen to LB and Duoas. However, if at some point you want to learn (a flavor of) Assembly, a great way to learn would be to write an assembler in c++. I'm writing a virtual machine in C++ which is an interesting way to learn about stack based processing
There are specific applications of C++ that require knowing Assembly. For example, something like boost::context is impossible to do in pure C++. If you're doing any kind of API hooking, knowing some Assembly helps a lot.