medical student/programming amateur

Hi, everyone .. I'm Omar from Egypt
I'm a medical student but I love programming a lot, I learned C++ [read a lot of material] so I could consider myself not a very beginner i.e. I'm familiar with the language.
I also read some Qt learning material ..
but I sometimes find it overwhelming and give up when things get complicated, and I say to myself why I'm even learning programming ..
but I love programming .. I like the idea of creation, design and problem-solving..
I thought maybe I would be able to create some helpful apps for studying, for example, or in my clinic in the future :)

So, why am I writing this?
I want your advice, how do you see this? Should I go on or give up?
and if go on, what I should do to be a good amateur programmer e.g. some resources

Thanks in advance
and excuse my bad English; not my native language.. sorry
If you like it then there's no reason to stop.

Since you're programming for pleasure, it's not unreasonable to abandon a project you don't enjoy working on, or that you feel is going nowhere. Programming is, besides a creative endeavor, an engineering endeavor. An engineering project should consider the cost-benefit ratios of the various available solutions and pick one that is suitable to the problem in question. Dropping a solution because you've realized it's too complex to be worth the trouble is often the correct decision.
On the other hand, consider the gratification from seeing a project all the way to the end. What I've found works to keep me consistent is working on projects that will yield a final product I want to use. My last three projects have been an audio player for Android, an image viewer, and now a backup utility for Windows. These are all things I wanted but couldn't find an alternative that fulfilled all my requirements.
thanks @helios,
and since you're -obviously- an actual programmer, can you recommend to me a specific way to be a good programmer as you are.