• Forum
  • Lounge
  • Discouraged new programmer seeking advic

Discouraged new programmer seeking advice

I feel like I don't know what I'm doing. I'm new to code and C++, and the task of learning a programming language and developing problem solving skills is really taking a number on my confidence. I've been programming for a few months now, but I feel like I'm in between a rock and a hard place. I have a hard time solving harder problems on my own, and I am usually forced to look up help on Google to help me point myself in the right direction. But I feel like it only makes me more confused. I hate it, because I feel like I'm cheating, even though I am genuinely trying to understand the problem at hand. I talk to my teacher during and outside class, but even still I can't make sense of certain things.I feel like maybe I'm not cut out for this. Are these feelings normal?
Yes. You're doing fine. Don't give up.

There is a very (very!) steep learning curve to programming, and it hits hardest when you are just jumping in. There is an overload of information to digest, you see.

The problem solving skills only come with (1) time and (2) instruction. At the beginner's level, you are really not given any instruction for the problem solving skills at all; all instruction is focused on syntax and basic data structures.

For now, focus on an ability to make working programs. Time (and proper instruction) will help you refine them into more correct programs because you will eventually understand what (most) of the things you write in your program actually do, what things are not good to do, what things are good to do, etc.

What matters is whether or not you want to learn enough to keep learning. Because programming stuff is always about learning new things. How to learn is the real skill -- and that only comes with time and perseverance.

Hope this helps.