New to programming, need some advice

closed account (i8bjz8AR)
Hello, I'm very new to programming. I attend university and I'm currently in a couple classes as I have completed most of my general education requirements. I'm in discrete math and computer science 1. Discrete math is going well, aced my first test and following the logic fairly well. However, a few weeks ago, I had my first computer science midterm and I got a d- on it, while most other students did fairly well. I can definitely see myself being a programmer someday. I love code and it interests me a lot, figuring out problems and all. The next class I would take would be computer science 2, next semester. I feel like I can get through this class with all high enough grade to place into cs2. I do need to do well on the next test here in a few weeks though. Right now in class, we are working with functions and arguments, having already covered if statements, nested if loops, while loops, etc..., opening/closing files, input, output of data, and we're going to be getting into arrays early next week probably. Any advice for practice tests(with multiple choice) or for reviewing? On our first test, I did decent on the programs, with minor mistakes but the multiple choice hurt me big time. I've tried this websites tutorial but wondered if you guys would recommend anything else... Thanks!
If you want to become good at something practice all the time.
Reading about programming is nothing like practical experience.

At home create few projects like:
- console calculator (menu with add, subtract, multiply, etc. for real numbers, imaginary numbers, matrices)
- basic games like tic-tac-toe, ships, tetris
- network communicator
etc
nested if loops

Interesting. I haven't encountered an if loop yet.

Find some of your fellow students who did well... study with them.
It sounds like you have all the potential to become a good programmer. Interest is key.