Junior programmer need guidance in path to becoming a programmer

I read online that the path to becoming a programmer is to always keep on learning.

I am a junior programmer and have been working for about 1 year. Prior to me becoming a junior programmer I read "Programming" (a book for beginners with no prior programming experience) by Stroustrup and after it I read "TC++PL" and after it "Introduction To Algorithms" in parallel with "The Art of Computer Programming" Volume 1.

When I started working I had to read "Concurrency In Action", the Gang of Four and non programming related books such as "Operating System Concepts" and "Head First Networking" because the tasks I was assigned required knowledge in those fields. I also had to learn Java which I did from "Thinking in Java".

Ever since I started working I only read books required for the task I am currently working on otherwise I don't. A lot of articles that I read online say that becoming a programmer is a never ending learning process and that you should never stop learning but currently I have read the required material for the project that I'm on and I have nothing to read. What do people mean when they say you should never stop learning? What should I learn now? What books should I read? Do I need to just read book after book even though the project I am working on doesn't require it? Should I deepen my knowledge of the languages I currently know, for example reading "Inside the C++ Object Model", the "Effective C++" series by Scott Meyers, the "Exceptional C++" series by Herb Sutter?

Side note:
I do plan to learn a few more programming languages, but that is not part of my question.
Last edited on