About GUI

C++ doesn't seem to have a simple and a single consolidated way to make windows and work on graphics and GUI and all, when I search on youtube, I find many tutorials that use different methods and ways to create windows and use GUI such as SDL & Glew etc

I'm confused, which one to use?
Why do we always have to include files and do hard procedures to create windows etc or are there better ways? (idk, im still a beginner)

What are the best ways & methods to handle GUI, what should I use?
Doesn't C++ have a single unified way to handle GUI (without the need of including external files etc)?
C++ does not have a unified way to handle GUI. There's no standard library for GUI, unlike Java or C#. If you want to have a proper GUI in C++, you'll have to go with a third-party library. Qt is a good option, if you want just a straight GUI and not having to deal with graphical rendering and the rest of that stuff (SDL+GLEW).
@Ispil

Well, that's unfortunate :c
I don't understand how C++ understands all of the forms of GUI code, either from Qt or SDL (because they generate code differently and in different forms), etc if you know what I mean because those programs that facilitate the creation of GUI in c++ (libraries) must've used some of C++'s window/GUI functions that are already integrated

C++ gets pretty confusing in GUI
Last edited on
Your monitor is controlled by your operating system. Your operating system provides some functions that you can call to ask it nicely to show things on the monitor. You can call these functions yourself in your C++ code. It is generally difficult. These functions are different for every operating system, and since some operating systems have different options available for display managing, sometimes different across different installations of the same operating system.