Poodlecorp hackers - anyone know how?

Lately a lot of 'internet famous' people have been getting their accounts hacked by an individual/group calling themselves poodlecorp.

Youtube and Twitter aren't sites you can hack by typing ' OR TRUE OR ''=' into the password field. They also did some DDOSing - not surprising they have a botnet. But I don't think you can brute-force these types of accounts. I know google start asking for captchas after a few tries - sure you can probably buy these for <10000/$1, but they'd ask for phone verification or lock down the account when your number of attempts gets suspiciously high.

I'm not an expert by any stretch of the imagination, but I'm guessing it's more likely they just hacked into their victims' PCs. Still, they'd have to find their IP, hope the machine isn't behind a router or has ports forwarded, then find some unpatched vulnerability, and make sure their malware doesn't get detected after they send the payload...

I don't want this to be another 'i wanna b 1337 plz t33ch me h0w 2 h4x0r' post, but does anyone know how they could pull off something like this?
I'm guessing it's more likely they just hacked into their victims' PCs. Still, they'd have to find their IP, hope the machine isn't behind a router or has ports forwarded, then find some unpatched vulnerability, and make sure their malware doesn't get detected after they send the payload...
Unlikely.

The most likely scenario is a case of weak and reused passwords. Even if I don't know your password on StrongSite, if I know you have an account on WeakSite and you have reused the password, by brute-forcing WeakSite I'm indirectly brute-forcing StrongSite.
Damn, I was hoping for something more spectacular.. guess I just assumed the people with 5 million subs would know better