Ideas for medium-big project

Hey!

I have been studying CS for six years now and nowadays I am in a programming retreat. Here, I have been spending my time reviewing/improving my c++ skills. Now I believe it is time to work on bigger projects to put it my skills in practice and to have something to put in my resume.

I have been thinking about building a physics/rendering engine but I have read many people discouraging that. Do you have some ideas of what project (minimum 50h) I can do? I'm into physics, graphics, artificial intelligence and parallel computing mostly.

Thank you so much.

-mtrebi
Last edited on
Hi,I think that this topic should be in the lounge section so you may edit your code and move it to the lounge section to get better answers

Also if you are thinking to build a physics engine you should build it if that's your passion....
Hello,

Thanks for the advice. I've already moved it. I am thinking about a physics engine because it is the only idea that came to my mind. It also seems enjoyable.
One suggestion if you are into AI would be to create a "Game" where you can create custom scripts to control bots and have them compete against other bots/scripts.

Basically the whole idea would be to create a simple game where you could create different kinds of scripts for your AI and have them compete against other AI scripts. Some good games off the top of my head would be..

- A modified soccer game (Mainly just make it so the ball can't go out of bounds which makes things a lot easier) where you can script two opposing teams and see who could score the most goals in a time limit. Each team would be controlled by a different script (Could even go deeper and have a team script which controls the group behavior/goals and a script for each bot to control individual decision making).