• Forum
  • Lounge
  • Computing Graduates who can't write code

Computing Graduates who can't write code

I've been a software engineer for more years than I care to remember, and before that I was a hardware engineer. A post in one of the forums http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/general/1762/ has raised a subject that is one of my pet hates. I have noticed, particularly recently that more and more Universities are launching graduates into the software industry without any programming abilities. I recently interviewed one candidate who had done 6 weeks programming on a four year computing degree!! I recently spoke with a University Professor about the content of the degrees and I was told that if they put the programming content of their degrees up, nobody wants to do the course! On top of that, having worked in and with numerous companies around the UK some of the code being written by supposed professionals is woeful. There seems to usually be one or two genuine experts out of every twenty or so who write code for a living, that seem to have to prop up the rest. Is this just me being in the wrong place are are these trends more widespread?
I have likewise been a software engineer for many years, and have to agree that there appear to be a large number of people claiming abilities they just don't have.
I am currently fortunate to be working for a small company which is run by people who understand software engineering, and make sure they only hire others who do (or are graduates with the right aptitude and attitude to learn).
In previous companies a major source of problems has to fall with managers (and directors) who not only do not understand the difficulties, but are unwilling to accept that others 'below' them might know more then them.