How C++ should be taught

Pages: 12
Talk by Kate Gregory about how she teaches C++ to beginners.
Delivered at CppCon 2015.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YnWhqhNdYyk
Didn't watch the video as it seems quite lengthy. But I think nobody should teach you C++ other than you. Programming is a process of you teaching yourself. Even in college, students should not expect to just sit in the lecture theater with a "okay professor, teach me how to program applications!" mentality. Nobody taught me how to code, I taught myself how to do it and I'd like to think I'm a pretty good programmer, certainly not an expert but I learn from my mistakes every day. Moral of the story, your best C++ teacher is you.
It's worth remembering what Scott Meyers said about C++ being divided in 4 paradigms:

1. C Programming
2. Object Oriented C++
3. Template C++ including Template Meta Programming
4. The STL

As the video explains, start with 4.

The funniest part of the video, IMO:

Andre says "The fun begins with ..."
My take away from the video was to drop 1, combine 2 and 4, and bring in 3 much later along with pointers. The video seemed to stress that teaching them 1 up front creates poor C++ programmers.

Everyone has their idea of what makes a bad programmer depending on their area of expertise.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rX0ItVEVjHc

I got that video from this discussion thread on Allegro:
https://www.allegro.cc/forums/thread/616761
I've come to the conclusion that C++ is an awful language for teaching the basics of programming.

Trying to teach it effectively to complete beginners is an exercise in masochism, both for the teacher and (especially) for the beginner.
I would both agree and disagree with that. C++ was the first programming language I ever learned, and I very much appreciate that.