How do you test codes and/or create new functions?

I am curious to know how experienced programmers code their projects.

For example:

When I am coding (I'm a CS student), I use an IDE (Xcode) and when I need to test something, I use Atom + terminal or, to be faster, I use cpp.sh website to try some codes.

I am not sure this is the best way to do it, but sometimes I feel that testing some code inside my project doesn't make sense because I need to comment out parts of it in order to see the specific output.

Or if I want to create a new member-function, but I just want to test this specific function, I don't like to run the entire project.

So my question is:
When you are programming and want to test a code or want to create a new function, do you code it inside your current project/class? or do you code it elsewhere and then include it in your project/class code?

I want to improve the way I code, so I need to know how experienced programmers do! :)

I wouldn't say I'm a pro ... I do Code Blocks with c/c++ and MinGW

For me I have tools on the side which I've made and some pre-made code I just copy and paste to get the core of my program started to test in, and then just play with it. This way I only have a compile time of 1 sec or less. Once the new code/feature is done, I know I can just add another #include"FileName.h" on my main program and start dropping in the new lines of functionality.

Now for me, my code is't too complex, I'm still building up my tool for plug and play, but it's what I do, and I hope this helps.
Last edited on
Hi,

I think what you are after is a thing called "Unit Testing".

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unit_testing

I have recently migrated to Eclipse IDE, it has a plugin called Cute:

http://cute-test.com/

Not that I have used it, just trying to point in the right direction :+)

Edit: Unit Testing with XCode:
http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/software-engineer/better-and-cleaner-code-unit-testing-with-xcode/
Last edited on