Real Programmers Don't Use PASCAL

Funny how it was Pascal that put PCs and hobby programming on the map, giving us the world we now live in.

Sorry, I like Pascal, and people these days see that old article without the context to see just how biased an opinion statement it really was.
I like Pascal too.
When I started programming in the early nineties it was the official teaching language in German schools and universities.
Modern Pascal(FPC) has generics, operator overloading and all OO features like "modern" languages.
I guess many people don't know it when they write about Pascal.
Do you realize "Modern Pascal" didn't even exist and "OOP" wasn't yet a thing when that paper was written? In fact C was just a baby out of the Bell Labs and C++ would take another decade to even appear.

By the way I thought it was Basic that put PCs and hobby programming on the map, after all Basic was the really the start of Microsoft.

No I didn't. Just saw that the original article was posted 2001.
I think the original article was actually posted in 1983. C++ didn't exist ... but it does mention C:
If you ignore the fact that it's structured, even C programming can be appreciated by the Real Programmer: after all, there's no type checking, variable names are seven (ten? eight?) characters long, and the added bonus of the Pointer data type is thrown in. It's like having the best parts of FORTRAN and assembly language in one place. (Not to mention some of the more creative uses for #define.)

Here's another take from xkcd
https://xkcd.com/378/
Last edited on
I have to admit that my brain was confunded and my first response was actually about an early paper called Why PASCAL Is Not My Favorite Programming Language, by Kernighan. The link in OP is a joke piece that is fairly old. I never found it particularly funny, personally, but it sees its rounds with people year to year.
closed account (E0p9LyTq)
Well, Borland did quite a number using Pascal. They created Delphi for RAD.