Hello world :D

Hello guys,
newbie here. I want to learn c++ for many reasons. Reason number 1 is the rich OpenCV library for computer vision, a field I want to specialize. I have been told that c++ is hard to learn so I want to ask c++ veterans if it's worth learning not only for computer vision but for general purpose too.

Bachelor in physics with intermediate knowledge in python.
You have been told wrong.

C++ is not hard to learn.

It is about as difficult as any other programming language. Harder than Basic, maybe. Easier than APL. But not hard.

What will eat your time is the size of the language. C++ is very expansive, permitting a lot of different programming methodologies. A current favorite is template metaprogramming, which you can waste hours and hours of your life over. (For, IMHO, decreasing returns.)

The best way to get started is to jump right in. Find a simple OpenCV project, follow the “Hello world!” examples, and start spending time learning how to do the kinds of things you need to do to make stuff happen.

Frankly, most of your time will be spent learning OpenCV, once you get past the hurdle of basic C++ syntax and compiling a program into an executable.

Welcome aboard!
closed account (z05DSL3A)
How do and welcome.

Is it hard to learn? I personally don't think the basics of C++ are hard to learn. Even going beyond the basics are fairly straight forward. The best thing to do is not run at it, take it easy make sure you have the basics down before moving on to the next level.

Is it worth learning for general purpose too? Yes...but I'm biased.
closed account (E0p9LyTq)
I have been told that c++ is hard

Look at the tutorial here at cplusplus
http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/

or Learn C++
http://www.learncpp.com/

You decide if learning C++ is hard or not.
Thank you all guys. :)
I want to ask c++ veterans if it's worth learning

You realize you are not likely to get an unbiased opinion here, a forum devoted to C++ programming.